The compulsory preservation of the traditional architectural features even
to the new buildings has given to Mykonos two major advantages lacking
from other touristic settlements: continuity in time and harmony in space.
Whatever the visitor wishes, amusement all night round, shopping in expensive
and chic stores, eating delicious food with good wine, or spending quiet
time (yes even this can happen!), it is possible to fulfill in Mykonos.
The market of Mykonos is comparable to those of London, Paris or New York;
in the tiny box-sized stores, may be found all the famous great firms of
fashion in clothes,accessories or jewelry. High quality souvenirs as byzantine
icons, original replicas of well known ancient artefacts (cycladic idols,
vessels etc) are also available.
Lots of cafes, bars and restaurants offer any kind of drink, good wine
and ouzo, along with the well known local cheese, sausages and fresh sea
food. Eating and drinking in Chora, especially at the scenery quarter of
Alefkantra, commonly known as the “Little Venice”, is not only
an unforgettable food experience!
Walking around in Mykonos town is another interesting activity: the Paraportiani
church, dedicated to Holy Mary, a unique architectural complex , with an
arched campanile, is one of the best samples of Cycladic folk architecture;
found at the quarter Kastro, it rewards the visitor with extraordinary souvenir
it is probably one of the most photographed places in Greece.
A series of seven white windmills are found south to the Kastro quarter.
They stand there, all white with their imposive volume, to remind to the
visitor of the old economy of the Aegean based on wind and sea. Windmills
are a “trade mark” of many other cycladic islands, but those
of Mykonos are the most well known and the best preserved.
Traveling to the past in Chora, the visitor should take two more stops:
firstly at the Yoras bakery, at Niohori, a monument still in function,
using only wood for baking; secondly, at the Three Wells, just at the center
of the town; it is from those wells that all town used to draw the necessary
water up to mid-20th century!
Several public buildings are also worth seeing:
The Municipality Hall is hosted at a two store classic- style building
of 1780; it used to be the residence of the Russian consul in the island.
The Catholic church dedicated to Holy Mary, known as “Lozaria”,
at Aghia Kyriaki, dates back to the ages of Louis 14th of France (16th-17th
century); the Municipal Library is lodged in a wonderful palace built
in 18th century; the building of the first public school (1859), has
been built by the famous German architect Weiler; the Archaeological
Museum found at the street leading from the port to the city center,
lodges important finds from Delos and Reneia; the Folk Museum with great
collections of artefacts of everyday life of the past, gives to the visitor
an idea of how life has been in the island even a few decades ago.